You Are Here: Home » NEWS HEADLINES » New President of Kyrgyzstan elected in the first round


The people of Kyrgyzstan have elected their new President on October 15. The former Prime Minister Sooronbai Jeenbekov is the 5th President of Kyrgyzstan for next six years. More than 900 thousand voters from those who took part in the elections voted for him. According to preliminary data, only 1 668 thousand 49 (55.93%) voters took part in the presidential elections. In total, in the country there are 3 million 25 thousand registered voters.

Jeenbekov, 58, a former schoolteacher, began his political journey by rising through the ranks of the collective farm system in the Soviet Union. Then, in 1995, he was first elected to parliament. At various times, he has served as agriculture minister, head of the presidential administration and governor of his native Osh region. In April 2016, he became Prime Minister, a position he vacated in August 2017 to concentrate on presidential campaigning.

In his victory speech, he praised Kyrgyzstan’s “great achievements” of the past six years and said his “task is to preserve what has been achieved, to strengthen what has been started.”

© 2017 Embassy of Kyrgyz Republic in New Delhi, India